Tenses

1) Simple Present Tense

Expressing the idea that an action is repeated or usual
    Formula:
        Subject + Verb I
    Example:
        1) I sleep in the bed
        2) She plays with her brother
        3) I go to school
2) Present Continuous Tense
Express the idea that something is happening now. It can also be used to show that something is not happening now.
    Formula:
        Subject + to be + Verb ing
    Example:
        1) I am sleeping
        2) You are running
        3) We are walking around the park
3) Present Perfect Continuous Tense
Expressing the action that started in the past and has continued until now
    Formula:
        I/we/you/they + have + been + Present Participle
    Example:
        1) I have been swimming with my friends in the river this morning
        2) You have been playing kite at 04.00 p.m.
        3) We have been preparing for party this afternoon
4) Simple Past Tense
Expressing the idea that an action started and finished at a specific time in the past.
    Formula:
        I/we/you/they + Past tense
        He/she/it + Past tense
    Example:
        1) I didn’t sleep well last night
        2) You wrote a letter yesterday
        3) We went to Tangkuban Parahu mountain last holiday
5) Present Perfect Tense
Expressing an action happened at an unspecified time before now.
    Formula:
        S + have/has + Verb III
    Example:
        1) We have drank a cup of coffee
        2) I have done my task
        3) You have broken my ruler
6) Past Continuous Tense
To indicate that a longer action in the past was interrupted.
    Formula:
        I/he/she/it + was + present participle
        You/we/they + were + present participle
Example:
1) While I was sleeping, the big earthquake happens
2) When I was takking my book, he took his bag
3) When I was watching film, my little sister cried
7) Past Perfect Tense
Expressing the idea that something occurred before another action in the past.
Formula:
Had + Past Participle
Contoh:
1) When she walked, he had reds the book
2) When I paid a bill, you had stood behind me
3) When you come to my house, he had gone to Jakarta
8) Past Perfect Continuous Tense
To show that something started in the past and continued up until another time in the past.
    Formula:
Had + Been + Present Participle
Example:
1) When you gone, I had been reading
2) When he walked, she had been running
3) When they eaten, I had been drinking
This entry was posted in bahasa inggris, belajar, coretan, si adi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

